The Canadian Toy Association Names Rising Star Award Winners

The following article is based on a press release issued by The Canadian Toy Association on November 8, 2022.

cta-logoNovember 9, 2022 | The Canadian Toy Association (CTA) announced the winners of its inaugural Rising Star Awards, which recognizes emerging leaders in the toy industry whose achievements reflect exceptional growth and impact manufacturing, retail, and marketing.

The winners are: Rakan Al-Shawaf (CEO) and Pablo Eder (COO), co-founders of Makeship, for the Entrepreneurship Category; Jessica Shaheen, head of corporate brand at Mastermind Toys, for the Retail Category; and Rochelle Pires, director of sales at Hasbro, and Justine Wong, director of marketing for Moose Toys Canada, for the Vendor Category.

“The Canadian toy industry is driven by incredibly diverse talent and emerging leaders demonstrating leadership, entrepreneurship, and creativity in our businesses,” said Graeme Bissett, chair of the CTA. "We are honored to recognize and congratulate this year's first-ever Rising Star winners for their incredible role in helping to shape the success of our industry.”

The winners will be honored in person at CTA’s Hall of Fame Event, taking place November 17, 2022 at the Mississauga Convention Centre. The evening will include a reception and a dinner, followed by ceremonies to induct Monika Merz, former president of Toys “R” Us Asia Pacific, and Spin Master Co-Founders Ronnen Harary, Anton Rabie, and Ben Varadi into the CTA’s Hall of Fame and recognize the Rising Star Award winners.

Click here to view more information about the 2022 CTA Rising Star Award winners.

CTA Hall of Fame Event details, including registration information and sponsorship opportunities, are available online.